Sunday, May 8, 2011

AB88 Passed! GE Salmon MUST be Labeled in California -- But There's More...

On May 3rd, 2011, the California Assembly Health Committee passed AB 88, which requires all genetically engineered salmon sold in California to be clearly labeled. This is a first victory, and we thank all of you who took action to make it happen!

The bill now moves to the Appropriations Committee where those members will decide if AB 88 (in terms of costs associated with its implementation) should go to the full Assembly for the final vote.

We need to persuade Appropriations Committee members to vote in favor of AB 88!

The Committee - see the list below - will make a decision on May 18th. It is most critical to persuade at least 8 of these members to vote "yes" to get the bill to full assembly.

What can you do? In brief:
1) check if any of the representatives below is from your district
2) if so, call them as soon as possible to tell them to support AB88 which protects your consumer rights (and let Stacey@responsibletechnology.org know you called)
3) email them or fax them a short letter that says you strongly support AB 88 and you count on them to also vote in favor. Please mention clearly in your call, phone message or written message that you live in the district (indicate city and leave a phone number if you are leaving a phone message).

This is a landmark bill and a serious test of our ability to influence legislators in regard to GMOs.

Thanks for taking action!

The Staff at the Institute For Responsible Technology

Appropriations Committee MembersDistrictPhoneDistrictFaxE-mail

Felipe Fuentes - Chair

Dem-39

(916) 319-2039

818-504-3911

(916)

319-2139

Assemblymember.Fuentes@assembly.ca.gov

Diane Harkey –

Vice Chair

Rep-73

(916) 319-2073

760-757-8084

(916)

319-2173

Assemblymember.Harkey@assembly.ca.gov

Bob Blumenfield

Dem-40

(916) 319-2040

818-904-3840

(916)

319-2140

Assemblymember.Blumenfield@assembly.ca.gov

Steven Bradford

Dem-51

(916) 319-2051

310-412-6400

(916)

319-2151

Assemblymember.Bradford@assembly.ca.gov

Charles M. Calderon

Dem-58

(916) 319-2058

562-692-5858

(916)

319-2158

Assemblymember.Calderon@assembly.ca.gov

Nora Campos

Dem-23

(916) 319-2023

408-277-1220

(916)

319-2123

Assemblymember.Campos@assembly.ca.gov

Mike Davis

Dem-48

(916) 319-2048

213-744-2111

(916)

319-2148

Assemblymember.Davis@assembly.ca.gov

Tim Donnelly

Rep -59

(916) 319-2059

760-244-5277

(916)

319-2159

Assemblymember.Donnelly@assembly.ca.gov

Mike Gatto

Dem-43

(916) 319-2043

818-240-6330

(916)

319-2143

Assemblymember.Gatto@assembly.ca.gov

Isadore Hall III

Dem-52

(916) 319-2052

310-223-1201

(916)

319-2152

Assemblymember.Hall@assembly.ca.gov

Jerry Hill

Dem-19

(916) 319-2019

650-349-1900

(916)

319-2119

Assemblymember.Hill@assembly.ca.gov

Ricardo Lara

Dem-50

(916) 319-2050

562-927-1200

(916)

319-2150

Assemblymember.Lara@assembly.ca.gov

Holly J. Mitchell

Dem-47

(916) 319-2047

310-342-1070

(916)

319-2147

Assemblymember.Mitchell@assembly.ca.gov

Jim Nielsen

Rep- 2

(916) 319-2002

530-223-6300

(916)

319-2102

Assemblymember.Nielsen@assembly.ca.gov

Chris Norby

Rep- 72

(916) 319-2072

714-526-7272

(916)

319-2172

Assemblymember.Norby@assembly.ca.gov

Jose Solorio

Dem-69

(916) 319-2069

714-939-8469

(916)

319-2169

Assemblymember.Solorio@assembly.ca.gov

Donald P. Wagner

Rep-70

(916) 319-2070

949-863-7070

(916)

319-2170

Assemblymember.Wagner@assembly.ca.gov

__________________________________________

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Post a Comment